The Appalachian Trail: Day 26

April 24, 2017

It feels great to be hiking again. 17 easy miles today! Well, calling it easy might be playing it down a bit. The trail was soaked, in fact, it looked like the mountain had sprung several leaks. There were tons of rivulets that took careful maneuvering to cross and my hopes of hiking with dry feet turned out to be nothing more than pipe dreams.

It didn’t rain today but between hiking in clouds and all the water on the ground, there wasn’t much of a difference. Bartender was planning on meeting a friend at Beauty Spot Gap but would be meeting us at Cherry Gap Shelter later. I bet she wasn’t too pleased with the day’s view…

As I journeyed up into a pine forest, there was another memorial but this one was more… Personal, maybe is the word. A Christmas tree, decorated for a hiker who fell too young. It was a touching sight that made me think of my family and the love and support that they’ve shown me through all my trials and endeavors.

After hiking through a beautiful, yet slightly confusing, pine-fresh forest, we ran into a hiker by the name of Greybeard. He is 81 years old and will be turning 82 soon, making him the oldest person to thru-hike the A.T., assuming he finishes. GreybeardAdventurer.com is his site. There hasn’t been any signal during my down time so I haven’t had time to check it out yet but I’m cheering him on.

I was very pleasantly surprised to see a few hikers that I recognized at the shelter. Primo, Terradactyle (purposely spelled wrong), and Young Gandalf were there but decided to push on. There were a couple of awesome dudes that got a fire going despite the moisture and the warmth was greatly appreciated. Unfortunately, the weather had other plans and we were once again forced to retreat back to our shelters.

The rain let up a bit and I can hear the others in the shelter but I’m content with staying in my tent.

Previous                                                                                Next

Leave a Reply

