The Appalachian Trail: Day 12

April 10, 2017

I am soo tired. Today was the toughest days so far! It started out easy enough. I ate several snacks for breakfast to try and cut through my food excess. There was a pretty good climb but there was a fire tower at the top that had a full 360° view! It was also a good place for a snack.

I might not have the steadiest hand…

We went past a pretty charred area but as we descended, the area became a bit greener. There were even a few different types of flowers growing. I was approaching the Nantahala Outdoor Center (affectionately called the NOC) and could hear the nearby river and cars. A few short bridges later and there it was in all its glory.

I bought and printed out my camping permit for the Smokies (they charge for everything!), had lunch, and reapplied my sunscreen. I even got a little ice cream and watched the kayakers go through their course! The day was getting hot and we had about 7 miles to go.

Now, I knew that it was going to be a climb. I knew that almost all 6.9 miles was going to be a climb. What I didn’t know, was that this particular section was made by a bunch of sadists! Have they never heard of switchbacks?!

It took a long time for my lunch to settle and I couldn’t get nearly enough water down. I was not the happiest of campers. Eventually, we made it to the top and I began to put the Savage mountain behind (and/or underneath) me. Shortly after setting up camp, some hikers came by saying they saw a bear half a mile back. I doubt that they’ll come around here, especially with Pipes next door playing his bagpipes. He seems like a pretty happy fellow.

16.3 miles today. Tomorrow is going to be the biggest at 21.9 miles to the Fontana Dam Shelter, a.k.a. the Fontana Hilton. DustBuster picking up a package and meeting up with a friend that she met while hiking the PCT last year who might hike with us for a bit. Should be fun!

Previous                                                                                            Next

One thought on “The Appalachian Trail: Day 12

  1. Good to hear from you. Them NC mtns ain’t no joke are they? Let us know if you make it to Fontana. 21mi what if it’s the same terrain? New found respect for the old mountaineers. No tumbling here!!
    Love you son.
    You got this! 👍💀💪

    Like

Leave a Reply

