The Appalachian Trail: Day 5

April 3, 2017

Today was a blast!

I woke up around 5:00 to some fat rain drops and heavy wind. I tried to fall back asleep but gave up after an hour. I opened up my tent and found myself surrounded by mist. It was so thick that it took me about 10 minutes to find my bear bag and another 10 just to find my tent again.

I got a text from my sister saying that the weather was looking pretty bad and my weather app agreed so I decided I would pack up and hike the 2.5 miles to Unicoi Gap and take the shuttle into Hiawasee. I have to go into town either today or tomorrow so I might as well avoid the storm.

When I got there, Oolik and Bigfoot were already waiting. Terry passed by but was hiking on to Dick’s Gap. Brave fella. Dustbuster and a hiker named Kyle showed up and we waited in the rain together. Our shuttle was late and we were trying to hitch a ride when it finally pulled up. There weren’t any more rooms available at the Budget Inn but Kyle had reserved one so him, Oolik, Dustbuster, and I are splitting a room while Bigfoot left for the Holiday Inn.

There were a dozen hikers just hanging out there, either waiting for their room or getting ready to go back to the trail. We got some food and chatted as the rain kept pouring. When there was a break in the weather, Kyle and I ran to the store for supplies. Dinner was at Daniel’s Steakhouse and Buffet where the server let us help ourselves to some free desserts!

As the night wound down, we retired to our rooms where we talked and prepped for tomorrow. Oolik spilled oatmeal all over the floor and was using a card to try and scrape it up. We thought it looked like he was trying to scrape cocaine off the floor so we renamed him Cocaine Cowboy and laughed our heads off about it.

It was fun but I’m ready to start hiking again.

Previous                                                                             Next

Leave a Reply

