The Appalachian Trail: Day 2

Mar. 31, 2017

I had a bad headache last night until an hour after the storm started. The wind and rain was pretty wild. I hope the folks on Springer Mountain are all right. I chatted a bit with Frank, the guy camped next to me, and we figured out that we were just .1 mi from a shelter. I packed up and crossed a bridge and log over the creek and voila, there it was!

I hiked alone for a while, crossing a much larger creek. A few miles later (after a 10 minute detour to retrieve my hiking stick) I met Ridgerunner​ Bill. He informed me that I would cross a creek and then there’d be a 6 mile Gap without water. Soon after, I came across a group doing trail magic for 8 years now! A big thanks to Papa Smurf and the Georgia Adventurer’s Group!

I passed by many people (and a few passed me too!) and it was great seeing so many just loving being out here. I passed a giant hollow tree and later had my lunch on a bunch of rocks overlooking a beautiful scene.

I made it to Gooch Gap Shelter around 4:45 and was greeted by nearly a dozen other thru-hikers. I introduced myself and found a place to set my tent. I’ve seen more people today than I usually see when I’m not hiking! I hung out for a bit but felt a bit overwhelmed and spent some time by myself just soaking in all the nature around me.

The weather and the people are terrific but tomorrow I’m pushing through 16.7 miles to get past a particularly troublesome bear’s territory (he will get your hanging food) and will camp at Bull Gap. Time to get some rest!

Previous                                                                                       Next

3 thoughts on “The Appalachian Trail: Day 2

  1. The trail magic dude is a friend of mine..he is from Dalton Ga. His name is James Workman..So excited he fed someone that I know. I have know you sister and momma for years and have met you thru them before. How exciting and God bless

    Like

    1. Thank you, Lori! I love Georgia and ​the people that I’ve met there. I’m also a big fan of Big D’s Flea Market (love Dalton!). Thank you so much for reading and especially for leaving a comment. I love to hear from my readers!

      Like

    2. i do remember him glad he is okay we did. talk briefly. there were a lot of people there. if I had only knkwn lol. hike on brother

      Like

Leave a Reply

