The Appalachian Trail: Day 1

Mar. 30, 2017

It’s finally time! I’ve been really enjoying my time with my family but I decided to head out 2 days early to avoid the weekend crowd. A special thanks to all of my wonderful family for hosting and helping me and to my uncle for giving me a ride to Amicalola Falls! I registered as hiker number 1,380.

The falls are listed as strenuous and they weren’t exaggerating. 604 steps to the top but it was worth all the sweaty effort.
I ran into a couple of hikers just after the falls and talked and hiked with them for a few hours. As the day went on, I decided to pick up my pace and try to cover some more miles. Josh and Ayla (and their 2 dogs) are fun to hike with and I hope our paths will cross again.

I made it to the Southern Terminus on Springer Mountain and was treated to a hazy view, but also a big tree that’s great for climbing! I had a bit of a break but kept going, deciding to hike another 2.8 miles.
I finally made camp around 7:20. One other tent is nearby.Right after setting up my tent, I saw with great terror that my poor spork was bent completely backwards. I tried as delicately as I could to bend it back but the damage was too great. Rest in pieces, dear sportiness…
It’s starting to rain and the lightning seems especially bright as it lights up my tent. Should be a fun night.​

I’m having some trouble uploading pictures right now but I’ll keep trying to figure it out.
Previous                                                                                                  Next

Leave a Reply

